Bug 14875

Summary: Search serials by barcode
Product: Koha Reporter: Kyle M Hall <kyle.m.hall>
Component: SerialsAssignee: natasha <tasham_8>
Status: Failed QA --- QA Contact: Testopia <testopia>
Severity: enhancement    
Priority: P5 - low CC: colin.campbell, jonathan.druart, tasham_8
Version: unspecified   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
URL: http://devs.bywatersolutions.com/projects/search-serials-by-barcode/
Whiteboard:
Change sponsored?: Seeking cosponsors Patch complexity: ---
Bot Control: --- When did the bot last check this:
Who signed the patch off: Text to go in the release notes:
Attachments: Bug 14875 - Search serials by barcode
Bug 14875 Search serials by barcode
Bug 14875 - Search serials by barcode
Bug 14875 Search serials by barcode

Description Kyle M Hall 2015-09-22 14:55:21 UTC
Librarians have expressed the wish to be able to search for serials by barcode from the advanced serials search, and also from the quick search at the top of the serials module.
Comment 1 Nicole C. Engard 2016-01-06 17:06:30 UTC
Work to be done:

    Modify quick search to add barcode field ( may need to make it hidden by default ala the patron quick search

    Modify the advanced search to add barcode field

    Modify serials-search.pl to accept barcode as a parameter

    Modify SearchSubscriptions to accept barcode as a parameter

Seeking Co-Sponsors: http://devs.bywatersolutions.com/projects/search-serials-by-barcode/
Comment 2 Briana Greally 2016-01-21 02:12:43 UTC Comment hidden (obsolete)
Comment 3 natasha 2016-01-21 02:22:10 UTC
This is not quite fixed, we will continue working on it
Comment 4 Briana Greally 2016-01-21 03:12:12 UTC Comment hidden (obsolete)
Comment 5 Nicole C. Engard 2016-01-26 22:45:13 UTC
Created attachment 47323 [details] [review]
Bug 14875 - Search serials by barcode

This patch is only for the advanced search
To test:

1. Go to serials
2. If required make a new subscription and/or then click on advanced search
3. See that there is no barcode field.
4. Apply patch and repeat steps, there should now be a barcode field.
5. Type in a barcode and hit search. See that your book shows up.

Signed-off-by: Nicole Engard <nengard@bywatersolutions.com>
Comment 6 Nicole C. Engard 2016-01-26 22:45:18 UTC
Created attachment 47324 [details] [review]
Bug 14875 Search serials by barcode

To test:
1. Go onto the 'Serials' page
2. In the quick search, there are only two search fields; ISSN and Title
3. Apply the patch
4. There should now be three search fields, 'Barcode' being added.
5. Fill in that field with a barcode and matching results should come up.

Signed-off-by: Nicole Engard <nengard@bywatersolutions.com>
Comment 7 Jonathan Druart 2016-01-27 12:29:33 UTC
Natasha, when a subroutine is modified, tests should be provided to cover the changes and avoid regression later.
Could you please provide some tests?