Bug 16232

Summary: Edit as new (duplicate) doesn't work correctly with Rancor
Product: Koha Reporter: Jesse Weaver <jweaver>
Component: CatalogingAssignee: Agustín Moyano <agustinmoyano>
Status: CLOSED FIXED QA Contact: Josef Moravec <josef.moravec>
Severity: major    
Priority: P5 - low CC: alex.arnaud, bklein, josef.moravec, katrin.fischer, lucas, m.de.rooy, martin.renvoize, nick, tomascohen
Version: master   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Change sponsored?: Sponsored Patch complexity: Trivial patch
Documentation contact: Documentation submission:
Text to go in the release notes:
Version(s) released in:
19.05.00, 18.11.05
Bug Depends on: 22748    
Bug Blocks:    
Attachments: Bug 16232: Fix edit as new in Rancor
Bug 16232: Fix edit as new in Rancor
Bug 16232: Fix edit as new in Rancor

Description Jesse Weaver 2016-04-08 18:42:11 UTC
Marked as bug because the behavior is confusing (shows empty record but saves over old record).
Comment 1 Brian 2018-12-15 18:52:02 UTC
Any updates

Carnegie Team
Comment 2 Katrin Fischer 2019-02-10 21:05:44 UTC
It looks like the current record is opened instead of a 'copy' of it that will save as new. This can cause unwanted data loss, updating severity.
Comment 3 Agustín Moyano 2019-04-23 02:52:11 UTC
Created attachment 88401 [details] [review]
Bug 16232: Fix edit as new in Rancor

When you edit a biblio as new, and you have enabled advanced editor,
current record was opened, and was overwritten when saved. This patch
effectively opens a new record based on the one selected.

To test:
1) Enable "EnableAdvancedCatalogingEditor" preference
2) Go to cataloguing and click on advanced editor to save preference to the cookie
3) Search for an item in catalog
4) Click in "Edit as new (duplicate)"
5) Advanced editor should appear.
CHECK => browser url ends with #catalog/{original biblionumber}
      => Title above toolbar is "Editing catalog record #{original biblionumber}"
6) Apply this patch
7) Repeat steps 3 to 5
SUCCESS => browser url ends with #duplicate/{original biblionumber}
        => Title above toolbar is "Editing duplicate record of #{original biblionumber}"
8) Save
SUCCESS => browser url ends with #catalog/{new biblionumber}
        => Title above toolbar is "Editing catalog record #{new biblionumber}"
9) Sign off

Sponsored-by: Carnegie
Comment 4 Kyle M Hall 2019-04-24 12:20:24 UTC
Created attachment 88617 [details] [review]
Bug 16232: Fix edit as new in Rancor

When you edit a biblio as new, and you have enabled advanced editor,
current record was opened, and was overwritten when saved. This patch
effectively opens a new record based on the one selected.

To test:
1) Enable "EnableAdvancedCatalogingEditor" preference
2) Go to cataloguing and click on advanced editor to save preference to the cookie
3) Search for an item in catalog
4) Click in "Edit as new (duplicate)"
5) Advanced editor should appear.
CHECK => browser url ends with #catalog/{original biblionumber}
      => Title above toolbar is "Editing catalog record #{original biblionumber}"
6) Apply this patch
7) Repeat steps 3 to 5
SUCCESS => browser url ends with #duplicate/{original biblionumber}
        => Title above toolbar is "Editing duplicate record of #{original biblionumber}"
8) Save
SUCCESS => browser url ends with #catalog/{new biblionumber}
        => Title above toolbar is "Editing catalog record #{new biblionumber}"
9) Sign off

Sponsored-by: Carnegie

Signed-off-by: Kyle M Hall <kyle@bywatersolutions.com>
Comment 5 Josef Moravec 2019-04-24 12:40:44 UTC
Created attachment 88618 [details] [review]
Bug 16232: Fix edit as new in Rancor

When you edit a biblio as new, and you have enabled advanced editor,
current record was opened, and was overwritten when saved. This patch
effectively opens a new record based on the one selected.

To test:
1) Enable "EnableAdvancedCatalogingEditor" preference
2) Go to cataloguing and click on advanced editor to save preference to the cookie
3) Search for an item in catalog
4) Click in "Edit as new (duplicate)"
5) Advanced editor should appear.
CHECK => browser url ends with #catalog/{original biblionumber}
      => Title above toolbar is "Editing catalog record #{original biblionumber}"
6) Apply this patch
7) Repeat steps 3 to 5
SUCCESS => browser url ends with #duplicate/{original biblionumber}
        => Title above toolbar is "Editing duplicate record of #{original biblionumber}"
8) Save
SUCCESS => browser url ends with #catalog/{new biblionumber}
        => Title above toolbar is "Editing catalog record #{new biblionumber}"
9) Sign off

Sponsored-by: Carnegie

Signed-off-by: Kyle M Hall <kyle@bywatersolutions.com>

Signed-off-by: Josef Moravec <josef.moravec@gmail.com>
Comment 6 Nick Clemens 2019-04-25 11:51:46 UTC
Awesome work all!

Pushed to master for 19.05
Comment 7 Martin Renvoize 2019-04-26 15:11:08 UTC
Pushed to 18.11.x for 18.11.05
Comment 8 Lucas Gass 2019-05-16 01:19:25 UTC
missing dependency for 18.05.x, no backport
Comment 9 Alex Arnaud 2019-07-04 07:46:58 UTC
This give me a new "undefined" value in save target list. What is it supposed to be ? Clicking on it simply save the record in database, like if i just click on "Save to catalog".