Summary: | Check in "Hide all columns" doesn't persist on item batch modification/deletion | ||
---|---|---|---|
Product: | Koha | Reporter: | Emmi Takkinen <emmi.takkinen> |
Component: | Staff interface | Assignee: | Emmi Takkinen <emmi.takkinen> |
Status: | Pushed to oldstable --- | QA Contact: | Kyle M Hall (khall) <kyle> |
Severity: | normal | ||
Priority: | P5 - low | CC: | anni.rajala, david, fridolin.somers, gmcharlt, kyle, lucas, martin.renvoize, wainuiwitikapark |
Version: | Main | ||
Hardware: | All | ||
OS: | All | ||
See Also: | https://bugs.koha-community.org/bugzilla3/show_bug.cgi?id=32477 | ||
Change sponsored?: | Sponsored | Patch complexity: | --- |
Documentation contact: | Documentation submission: | ||
Text to go in the release notes: |
This fixes the item batch modification/deletion tool, so that if the "Hide all columns" checkbox is selected and then the page is reloaded, the checkbox is still shown as selected. Before this, the columns remained hidden as expected, but the checkbox wasn't selected.
|
Version(s) released in: |
24.11.00.24.05.04,23.11.09
|
Circulation function: | |||
Attachments: |
Bug 36129: Make check on "Hide all columns" persist on item patch modification/deletion
Bug 36129: Make check on "Hide all columns" persist on item patch modification/deletion Bug 36129: Make check on "Hide all columns" persist on item patch modification/deletion |
Description
Emmi Takkinen
2024-02-19 06:02:19 UTC
Created attachment 162268 [details] [review] Bug 36129: Make check on "Hide all columns" persist on item patch modification/deletion On item patch modification/deletion tool, if one checks "Hide all columns" checkbox and then reloads the page, checkbox is no longer selected. Columns are hidden as they should. This patch adds line to batchMod.js which sets "checked" attribute and class "selected" to checkbox. To test: 1. Find items to modify/delete and modify/delete them with corresponding tool. 2. Check checkbox "Hide all columns". 3. Refresh the page. => Note that columns are still hidden, but checkbox is now unselected. 4. Apply this patch. 5. Check checkbox again and refresh page. => Checkbox should be still checked. Sponsored-by: Koha-Suomi Oy When testing this I noticed that after refreshing page the selected checkbox didn't always remain. Both batch modification and deletion tool use the same code (+ browser's cache) when hiding columns so apparently what happened in my case was that my previous selection from batch modification tool was retrieved when I refreshed the batch deletion tool -page. Not sure if this can or needs to be fixed, but just to let everyone know what I bumped into. The patch does however fix the original issue where selection and columns hidden didn't match after reloading the page. I experienced some odd behavour with this as well when testing, and have changed to Failed QA: 1. Apply the patch 2. Clear browser cache 3. With batch item modification: . Select 'Hide all columns' - works as expected . Hard refresh the page (Shift + Refresh button) - no change . Select 'Show all columns' - works as expected . Repeat a couple of times . On one of the hard refreshes, it takes a while to load the page (and browser tab icon is spinning) . Don't do anything for a while (say one or two minutes) . Get this console error message: Unchecked runtime.lastError: A listener indicated an asynchronous response by returning true, but the message channel closed before a response was received batchMod.pl:1 . Hard refresh the page again . Takes a while to load, tab icon is spinning, 'Show all columns' + Others are selected (except for 'Hide all columns', then after a wait changes to 'Hide all columns' 4. Use the breadcrumbs/menu options to navigate to the staff interface home page, then go to Cataloging > Batch item deletion: . Note the spinning tab icon, and pages load slowly . Paste in some barcodes and submit . Note that the page load reasonably quickly, however the tab icon is spinning . Leave it for a bit (say one or two minutes), changes from what is expected (All columns selected, with only 'Hide all columns' not selected) to just 'Hide all columns' . Hard refresh, same as previous step 5. Clear the browser cache and then go to the batch item deletion tool . Select 'Hide all columns' . This message appears in the web developer tools console: Uncaught ReferenceError: allColumns is not defined batchMod_23.1200012.js:116 at hideAllColumns (batchMod_23.1200012.js:116:24) at HTMLInputElement.<anonymous> (batchMod_23.1200012.js:159:13) at HTMLInputElement.dispatch (jquery-3.6.0.min_23.1200012.js:2:43064) at v.handle (jquery-3.6.0.min_23.1200012.js:2:41048) . Don't do anything for a bit, then this console messages appears: Unchecked runtime.lastError: A listener indicated an asynchronous response by returning true, but the message channel closed before a response was received batchMod.pl:1 . Hard refresh - All columns are now selected, with only 'Hide all columns' not selected . Wait a bit - changes to 'Hide all columns' and the "Uncaught ReferenceError: allColumns" error from above is shown in the console again. Items I used to test: 39999000006094 39999000006117 39999000011418 39999000005134 Have added bug 32477 as a reference, while not the same it was fixing similar issues. (In reply to David Nind from comment #3) > I experienced some odd behavour with this as well when testing, and have > changed to Failed QA: > > 1. Apply the patch > > 2. Clear browser cache > > 3. With batch item modification: > . Select 'Hide all columns' - works as expected > . Hard refresh the page (Shift + Refresh button) - no change > . Select 'Show all columns' - works as expected > . Repeat a couple of times > . On one of the hard refreshes, it takes a while to load the page (and > browser tab icon is spinning) > . Don't do anything for a while (say one or two minutes) > . Get this console error message: > Unchecked runtime.lastError: A listener indicated an asynchronous > response by returning true, but the message channel closed before a response > was received batchMod.pl:1 > . Hard refresh the page again > . Takes a while to load, tab icon is spinning, 'Show all columns' + Others > are selected (except for 'Hide all columns', then after a wait changes to > 'Hide all columns' > > 4. Use the breadcrumbs/menu options to navigate to the staff interface home > page, then go to Cataloging > Batch item deletion: > . Note the spinning tab icon, and pages load slowly > . Paste in some barcodes and submit > . Note that the page load reasonably quickly, however the tab icon is > spinning > . Leave it for a bit (say one or two minutes), changes from what is > expected (All columns selected, with only 'Hide all columns' not selected) > to just 'Hide all columns' > . Hard refresh, same as previous step > > 5. Clear the browser cache and then go to the batch item deletion tool > . Select 'Hide all columns' > . This message appears in the web developer tools console: > Uncaught ReferenceError: allColumns is not defined > batchMod_23.1200012.js:116 > at hideAllColumns (batchMod_23.1200012.js:116:24) > at HTMLInputElement.<anonymous> (batchMod_23.1200012.js:159:13) > at HTMLInputElement.dispatch (jquery-3.6.0.min_23.1200012.js:2:43064) > at v.handle (jquery-3.6.0.min_23.1200012.js:2:41048) > . Don't do anything for a bit, then this console messages appears: > Unchecked runtime.lastError: A listener indicated an asynchronous > response by returning true, but the message channel closed before a response > was received batchMod.pl:1 > . Hard refresh - All columns are now selected, with only 'Hide all > columns' not selected > . Wait a bit - changes to 'Hide all columns' and the "Uncaught > ReferenceError: allColumns" error from above is shown in the console again. > > Items I used to test: > 39999000006094 > 39999000006117 > 39999000011418 > 39999000005134 > > Have added bug 32477 as a reference, while not the same it was fixing > similar issues. I've been trying to reproduce this scenario with no luck. Could it be that this happens with specific browser? I'm using Firefox (version 125.0.3). Couldn't reproduce Davids problem with Chromium either. I can't see it now either (Firefox and Chromium). 8-( Created attachment 166526 [details] [review] Bug 36129: Make check on "Hide all columns" persist on item patch modification/deletion On item patch modification/deletion tool, if one checks "Hide all columns" checkbox and then reloads the page, checkbox is no longer selected. Columns are hidden as they should. This patch adds line to batchMod.js which sets "checked" attribute and class "selected" to checkbox. To test: 1. Find items to modify/delete and modify/delete them with corresponding tool. 2. Check checkbox "Hide all columns". 3. Refresh the page. => Note that columns are still hidden, but checkbox is now unselected. 4. Apply this patch. 5. Check checkbox again and refresh page. => Checkbox should be still checked. Sponsored-by: Koha-Suomi Oy Signed-off-by: David Nind <david@davidnind.com> Created attachment 169251 [details] [review] Bug 36129: Make check on "Hide all columns" persist on item patch modification/deletion On item patch modification/deletion tool, if one checks "Hide all columns" checkbox and then reloads the page, checkbox is no longer selected. Columns are hidden as they should. This patch adds line to batchMod.js which sets "checked" attribute and class "selected" to checkbox. To test: 1. Find items to modify/delete and modify/delete them with corresponding tool. 2. Check checkbox "Hide all columns". 3. Refresh the page. => Note that columns are still hidden, but checkbox is now unselected. 4. Apply this patch. 5. Check checkbox again and refresh page. => Checkbox should be still checked. Sponsored-by: Koha-Suomi Oy Signed-off-by: David Nind <david@davidnind.com> Signed-off-by: Kyle M Hall <kyle@bywatersolutions.com> Thanks for all the hard work! Pushed to main for the next 24.11.00 release as RM Assistant Backported to 24.05.x for upcoming 24.05.04 Pushed to 23.11.x for 23.11.09 Not backporting to 23.05.x unless requested |