Bug 13944

Summary: Fund sorting is inconsistent across different parts of Koha
Product: Koha Reporter: Kyle M Hall <kyle>
Component: AcquisitionsAssignee: Kyle M Hall <kyle>
Status: NEW --- QA Contact: Testopia <testopia>
Severity: minor    
Priority: P5 - low CC: cunha, fridolin.somers, katrin.fischer, marjorie.barry-vila, sophie.meynieux
Version: master   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Change sponsored?: --- Patch complexity: ---
Documentation contact: Documentation submission:
Text to go in the release notes:
Version(s) released in:

Description Kyle M Hall 2015-04-02 13:52:16 UTC
Fund sorting is quite erratic between different parts of Koha:

1) Acquisitions Home ( acqui/acqui-home.pl )
   Default Sort: Fund Code

2) Funds for a Budget ( admin/aqbudgets.pl )
   Default Sort: Order of Creation ( aka no sorting )

3) Fund pulldown for an order line ( acqui/neworderempty.pl )
   Default Sort: Fund Name

It would be nice to get all these sorted the same by default. I think the choices are:
a) Sort all by Fund Name
b) Sort all by Fund Code ( requires adding the Fund Code to the funds list pulldown for order lines )

The question is, which of these choices would be best?
Comment 1 Katrin Fischer 2015-04-02 13:56:39 UTC
I think I'd prefer a sorting by fund name. But on the funds administration page it might make sense to sort by code instead, not sure. 
2) seems the most problematic.
Comment 2 Kyle M Hall 2015-04-02 14:15:32 UTC
Since acqui-home.l has sorting, we can make the default sort by fund name, and since aqbudgets.pl has no sorting at all, we can sort it by fund name. How does that sound?
Comment 3 Marjorie Barry-Vila 2017-05-08 20:17:28 UTC
Hi,

I prefer too, sort by fund name.

But now in 16.11, fund pulldown for an order line ( acqui/neworderempty.pl ) is sort by Fund code.

But in acqui/invoice.pl, shipping funds are sort by Name (and other problem, all funds are displayed).


Anyone want to works on it?

Regards,

Marjorie
Comment 4 Sandre Cunha 2017-05-08 20:29:14 UTC
I think fund name would be the best option. Between our operating and our trust fund budget, we have a lot of fund codes, and sorting by the code would not put the fund lines in any kind of meaningful order. At least if the sort is by fund name, one has the option of adding words or letters to force the sort into the order one wants. 

The sorting by order of creation is a nightmare when you are trying to create a budget and group things in a logical way. If you miss one, or had a couple of last minute additions, you either have to re-do the whole thing, or just let them hang out at the bottom, rather in a related group. It would be nice to be able to re-sort them, but if the default was to sort by name, this issue would less of a problem.
Comment 5 Katrin Fischer 2019-04-28 10:12:50 UTC
*** Bug 9969 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***