Bug 15505

Summary: Mark Hold Items 'On hold' instead of 'Available'
Product: Koha Reporter: Nicole C. Engard <nengard>
Component: Hold requestsAssignee: Nick Clemens <nick>
Status: In Discussion --- QA Contact: Testopia <testopia>
Severity: enhancement    
Priority: P5 - low CC: cbrannon, chris.kirby, george, gmcharlt, jdemuth, jonathan.druart, katrin.fischer, lisetteslatah, nick, rkuiper, sally.healey, veron
Version: master   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
URL: http://devs.bywatersolutions.com/projects/mark-hold-items-on-hold-instead-of-available/
Whiteboard:
Change sponsored?: Sponsored Patch complexity: Trivial patch
Bot Control: --- When did the bot last check this:
Who signed the patch off: Text to go in the release notes:
Attachments: Bug 15505 - Mark Hold Items 'On hold' instead of 'Available'
Bug 15505 - Mark Hold Items 'On hold' instead of 'Available'

Description Nicole C. Engard 2016-01-06 16:53:46 UTC
Work to be done:

* Modify C4::XSLT::buildKohaItemsNamespace to check for proposed holds for each item

* Modify XSLT if needed

* Modify item-status.inc to do the same check




Seeking Co-sponsors: http://devs.bywatersolutions.com/projects/mark-hold-items-on-hold-instead-of-available/
Comment 1 Christopher Brannon 2016-08-26 17:19:53 UTC
It's good to see this project funded.  Is any work currently being done on this?
Comment 2 Nick Clemens 2016-12-27 17:11:51 UTC
Created attachment 58459 [details] [review]
Bug 15505 - Mark Hold Items 'On hold' instead of 'Available'

This patch adds a 'pending hold' column to C4::Items:GetItemsInfo to
allow for displaying status of an item when it has been selected for a
hold by the holdsqueue.

To test:
01 - Place a hold on an item
02 - Build the holdsqueue (kohadevbox example below)
    sudo koha-shell kohadev
    perl misc/cronjobs/holds/build_holds_queue.pl
03 - Search for the item on the OPAC
04 - Note item shows as 'Available' in results and details
05 - Apply Patch
06 - Search for the item on the OPAC
07 - Note that item now shows as 'Pending hold'
Comment 3 Nick Clemens 2016-12-28 15:49:14 UTC
Link to dev site updated:
http://devs.bywatersolutions.com/2016/11/30/Mark-Hold-Items-On-hold-instead-of-Available/
Comment 4 Chris Kirby 2016-12-31 20:55:42 UTC
Created attachment 58549 [details] [review]
Bug 15505 - Mark Hold Items 'On hold' instead of 'Available'

This patch adds a 'pending hold' column to C4::Items:GetItemsInfo to
allow for displaying status of an item when it has been selected for a
hold by the holdsqueue.

To test:
01 - Place a hold on an item
02 - Build the holdsqueue (kohadevbox example below)
    sudo koha-shell kohadev
    perl misc/cronjobs/holds/build_holds_queue.pl
03 - Search for the item on the OPAC
04 - Note item shows as 'Available' in results and details
05 - Apply Patch
06 - Repeat step 02, rebuilding the holdsqueue
07 - Search for the item on the OPAC
08 - Note that item now shows as 'Pending hold'

Signed-off-by: Chris Kirby <chris.kirby@ilsleypubliclibrary.org>
Works as advertised.
Comment 5 Katrin Fischer 2017-01-01 22:57:59 UTC
I am not sure if this is a change libraries want in general - libraries are handling holds on shelf items differently, like some say if a patron gets to it first, they should have it (I think that's a pref).
Comment 6 Owen Leonard 2017-01-03 16:18:35 UTC
(In reply to Katrin Fischer from comment #5)
> like some say if a patron gets to
> it first, they should have it

Yes, that's how it works at my library.

> (I think that's a pref)

AllowItemsOnHoldCheckout? Would it make sense if this change were tied to that preference?
Comment 7 George Williams (NEKLS) 2018-06-01 15:35:59 UTC
Working in a large consortium, I definitely want something like this.

If a patron looks at the OPAC and sees a title with 30 items spread around at different locations and 20 are already checked out and there are 15 unfilled requests on the remaining 10 items the existing message can be confusing if you're not at a branch where a copy is actually available to be grabbed off of the shelf.

Maybe the issue could be resolved by allowing for the wording of the wording of the "Pending hold" message to be customized to suit the needs of the library.  If the message that displays when there is a pending hold on an item could be tied to an authorised value, then each library could customize the description of the item's availability in the staff client and the OPAC to suit the needs of their library.  If, for example, I want an item that is hold_fill_targets to display a message that the item has a hold on it then I can change the authorised value to read "Pending hold" but if I want it to display the same availability as any other item on the shelf, I could change the authorised value to read "Available."

George
Comment 8 Christopher Brannon 2018-06-01 20:21:02 UTC
(In reply to George Williams (NEKLS) from comment #7)
> Working in a large consortium, I definitely want something like this.
> 
> If a patron looks at the OPAC and sees a title with 30 items spread around
> at different locations and 20 are already checked out and there are 15
> unfilled requests on the remaining 10 items the existing message can be
> confusing if you're not at a branch where a copy is actually available to be
> grabbed off of the shelf.
> 
> Maybe the issue could be resolved by allowing for the wording of the wording
> of the "Pending hold" message to be customized to suit the needs of the
> library.  If the message that displays when there is a pending hold on an
> item could be tied to an authorised value, then each library could customize
> the description of the item's availability in the staff client and the OPAC
> to suit the needs of their library.  If, for example, I want an item that is
> hold_fill_targets to display a message that the item has a hold on it then I
> can change the authorised value to read "Pending hold" but if I want it to
> display the same availability as any other item on the shelf, I could change
> the authorised value to read "Available."
> 
> George

I agree with George.  This feature is needed, yet, we need to do it in a way that won't jeopardize how some libraries already use it.  If it can be setup in a way we can tailor it, that would be great.

Christopher