If an item is accidentally transferred to another branch after it fills a hold, the item will be checked in as 'local use' at the second branch, but will show as being held at the original branch.
Place a hold for item X at branch ABC
Check item X in at branch ABC, thereby filling the hold.
Check the item in at branch DEF.
This will produce a message like
Hold found: ...
Hold for ...
Hold at ABC
This will also give the following check in message:
Check in message
Not checked out
Local use recorded
Viewing the item's status will now show that the item's location is DEF, but the item is waiting for pickup at ABC.
The expectation is that a branch transfer should have been created to send the item back to ABC.
*** This bug has been marked as a duplicate of bug 13153 ***