Bug 17335 - waitingreserves.pl cancel button needs simplification
Summary: waitingreserves.pl cancel button needs simplification
Status: NEW
Alias: None
Product: Koha
Classification: Unclassified
Component: Hold requests (show other bugs)
Version: master
Hardware: All All
: P5 - low enhancement (vote)
Assignee: Bugs List
QA Contact: Testopia
URL:
Keywords:
Depends on:
Blocks:
 
Reported: 2016-09-23 14:45 UTC by Christopher Brannon
Modified: 2021-08-11 09:45 UTC (History)
3 users (show)

See Also:
Change sponsored?: ---
Patch complexity: ---
Documentation contact:
Documentation submission:
Text to go in the release notes:
Version(s) released in:


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Christopher Brannon 2016-09-23 14:45:20 UTC
I would suggest that the Cancel Hold button is overly complicated and should be simplified.  At the very least, this should be an option.

Currently (3.22.8) it doesn't seem to matter if there is another hold or if the item is a local item or going somewhere.  Its behavior doesn't differ from one button to the next.  Aside from that, if this function were to be fixed, say, bug 17010, it really doesn't matter (at least to some libraries) what happens next.  The behavior following the press of the button should be self evident.  One could also assume that getting information as to what happens next to each hold and customizing the button is using processing time to build the page.  Time which is a waste.

I think that the buttons next to all the holds should just simply read "Cancel hold".  If it is an issue, this should be a preference, that would eliminate any background processes building the buttons, and give a simple Cancel hold label.
Comment 1 Owen Leonard 2021-08-05 16:20:14 UTC
The check-in page shows a dialog telling the user that a transfer is required when checking in an item from another library. I think adding the same thing to this page would eliminate the need for a "Cancel and return to..." button label.
Comment 2 Christopher Brannon 2021-08-05 16:59:55 UTC
(In reply to Owen Leonard from comment #1)
> The check-in page shows a dialog telling the user that a transfer is
> required when checking in an item from another library. I think adding the
> same thing to this page would eliminate the need for a "Cancel and return
> to..." button label.

+1