Bug 23987 - batchMod.pl provides a link back to the record after the record is deleted
Summary: batchMod.pl provides a link back to the record after the record is deleted
Status: RESOLVED FIXED
Alias: None
Product: Koha
Classification: Unclassified
Component: Staff Client (show other bugs)
Version: master
Hardware: All All
: P5 - low normal (vote)
Assignee: Jonathan Druart
QA Contact: Testopia
URL:
Keywords:
Depends on:
Blocks: 24423
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2019-11-07 14:02 UTC by Nick Clemens
Modified: 2020-06-04 20:37 UTC (History)
7 users (show)

See Also:
Change sponsored?: ---
Patch complexity: Small patch
Who signed the patch off:
Text to go in the release notes:
Version(s) released in:
20.05.00, 19.11.01, 19.05.06, 18.11.14


Attachments
Bug 23987: Use src=CATALOGUING for edition/deletion in batch from items table (1.98 KB, patch)
2019-11-20 10:07 UTC, Jonathan Druart
Details | Diff | Splinter Review
Bug 23987: "return to cataloguing" if the record is deleted from bachMod-del (4.94 KB, patch)
2019-11-20 10:07 UTC, Jonathan Druart
Details | Diff | Splinter Review
Bug 23987: Use src=CATALOGUING for edition/deletion in batch from items table (2.03 KB, patch)
2019-11-22 05:26 UTC, ByWater Sandboxes
Details | Diff | Splinter Review
Bug 23987: "return to cataloguing" if the record is deleted from bachMod-del (4.99 KB, patch)
2019-11-22 05:26 UTC, ByWater Sandboxes
Details | Diff | Splinter Review
Bug 23987: Use src=CATALOGUING for edition/deletion in batch from items table (2.09 KB, patch)
2019-11-23 07:55 UTC, Katrin Fischer
Details | Diff | Splinter Review
Bug 23987: "return to cataloguing" if the record is deleted from bachMod-del (5.04 KB, patch)
2019-11-23 07:55 UTC, Katrin Fischer
Details | Diff | Splinter Review

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Nick Clemens 2019-11-07 14:02:06 UTC
To recreate:
1 - Have/make a bib with items
2 - On details page select Edit->Delete items in a batch
3 - Select all items and check "Delete record if no items remain"
4 - Delete the things
5 - On confirmation screen you have a count of items/bibs deleted
6 - Click 'Return to record' link
7 - It don't work, because you just deleted the record
Comment 1 Jonathan Druart 2019-11-20 10:07:30 UTC
Created attachment 95605 [details] [review]
Bug 23987: Use src=CATALOGUING for edition/deletion in batch from items table

There are 2 ways to land in batchMod from the detail page of a bib
record: from the Edit menu, and the action buttons on top of the items
table.

We want the same behavior for both and so use src=CATALOGUING
It will make batchMod to behave identically for the "return" button
Comment 2 Jonathan Druart 2019-11-20 10:07:34 UTC
Created attachment 95606 [details] [review]
Bug 23987: "return to cataloguing" if the record is deleted from bachMod-del

If a bibliographic record is deleted after having deleted all their items in a batch,
we should not display a "return to the record" button but "return to cataloguing" instead

Test plan:
1 - Have/make a bib with items
2 - On details page select Edit->Delete items in a batch
3 - Select all items and check "Delete record if no items remain"
4 - Delete the things
5 - On confirmation screen you have a count of items/bibs deleted
=> Without the patch there is a 'Return to record' button that leads to nowhere
=> With this patch there is a "Return to cataloging module" button
6 - Repeat using the "Delete selected items" link on top of the items table
=> Without the patch there is a 'Return to where you were' button that leads to nowhere
=> With this patch there is a "Return to cataloging module" button

Note that there is a link AND a button, coming from
  commit 928c0af2b6a2c7aa6ed54019c5bd7dbddbccf4ee
  Bug 15824 - 'Done' button is unclear on batch item modification and deletion
I do not think it makes sense to have both.
Comment 3 ByWater Sandboxes 2019-11-22 05:26:07 UTC
Created attachment 95711 [details] [review]
Bug 23987: Use src=CATALOGUING for edition/deletion in batch from items table

There are 2 ways to land in batchMod from the detail page of a bib
record: from the Edit menu, and the action buttons on top of the items
table.

We want the same behavior for both and so use src=CATALOGUING
It will make batchMod to behave identically for the "return" button

Signed-off-by: George Williams <george@nekls.org>
Comment 4 ByWater Sandboxes 2019-11-22 05:26:09 UTC
Created attachment 95712 [details] [review]
Bug 23987: "return to cataloguing" if the record is deleted from bachMod-del

If a bibliographic record is deleted after having deleted all their items in a batch,
we should not display a "return to the record" button but "return to cataloguing" instead

Test plan:
1 - Have/make a bib with items
2 - On details page select Edit->Delete items in a batch
3 - Select all items and check "Delete record if no items remain"
4 - Delete the things
5 - On confirmation screen you have a count of items/bibs deleted
=> Without the patch there is a 'Return to record' button that leads to nowhere
=> With this patch there is a "Return to cataloging module" button
6 - Repeat using the "Delete selected items" link on top of the items table
=> Without the patch there is a 'Return to where you were' button that leads to nowhere
=> With this patch there is a "Return to cataloging module" button

Note that there is a link AND a button, coming from
  commit 928c0af2b6a2c7aa6ed54019c5bd7dbddbccf4ee
  Bug 15824 - 'Done' button is unclear on batch item modification and deletion
I do not think it makes sense to have both.

Signed-off-by: George Williams <george@nekls.org>
Comment 5 Katrin Fischer 2019-11-23 07:55:07 UTC
Created attachment 95757 [details] [review]
Bug 23987: Use src=CATALOGUING for edition/deletion in batch from items table

There are 2 ways to land in batchMod from the detail page of a bib
record: from the Edit menu, and the action buttons on top of the items
table.

We want the same behavior for both and so use src=CATALOGUING
It will make batchMod to behave identically for the "return" button

Signed-off-by: George Williams <george@nekls.org>

Signed-off-by: Katrin Fischer <katrin.fischer.83@web.de>
Comment 6 Katrin Fischer 2019-11-23 07:55:11 UTC
Created attachment 95758 [details] [review]
Bug 23987: "return to cataloguing" if the record is deleted from bachMod-del

If a bibliographic record is deleted after having deleted all their items in a batch,
we should not display a "return to the record" button but "return to cataloguing" instead

Test plan:
1 - Have/make a bib with items
2 - On details page select Edit->Delete items in a batch
3 - Select all items and check "Delete record if no items remain"
4 - Delete the things
5 - On confirmation screen you have a count of items/bibs deleted
=> Without the patch there is a 'Return to record' button that leads to nowhere
=> With this patch there is a "Return to cataloging module" button
6 - Repeat using the "Delete selected items" link on top of the items table
=> Without the patch there is a 'Return to where you were' button that leads to nowhere
=> With this patch there is a "Return to cataloging module" button

Note that there is a link AND a button, coming from
  commit 928c0af2b6a2c7aa6ed54019c5bd7dbddbccf4ee
  Bug 15824 - 'Done' button is unclear on batch item modification and deletion
I do not think it makes sense to have both.

Signed-off-by: George Williams <george@nekls.org>

Signed-off-by: Katrin Fischer <katrin.fischer.83@web.de>
Comment 7 Martin Renvoize 2019-12-09 14:35:45 UTC
Nice work everyone!

Pushed to master for 20.05
Comment 8 Joy Nelson 2019-12-16 17:37:32 UTC
Pushed to 19.11.01
Comment 9 Lucas Gass 2019-12-20 15:28:35 UTC
backported to 19.05.x for 19.05.06
Comment 10 Hayley Mapley 2020-02-10 04:20:43 UTC
Backported to 18.11.x for 18.11.14.