Bug 3597 - "Delete all items" doesn't check issues
Summary: "Delete all items" doesn't check issues
Status: CLOSED FIXED
Alias: None
Product: Koha
Classification: Unclassified
Component: Cataloging (show other bugs)
Version: master
Hardware: PC All
: P1 - high normal (vote)
Assignee: Galen Charlton
QA Contact:
URL:
Keywords:
Depends on:
Blocks:
 
Reported: 2009-09-10 08:18 UTC by Chris Cormack
Modified: 2014-12-07 20:02 UTC (History)
4 users (show)

See Also:
Change sponsored?: ---
Patch complexity: ---
Who signed the patch off:
Text to go in the release notes:
Version(s) released in:


Attachments
This patch replaces DellItem by DellItemCheck in "delete all items". (990 bytes, patch)
2009-09-10 08:21 UTC, Chris Cormack
Details | Diff | Splinter Review

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Chris Cormack 2010-05-21 01:12:41 UTC


---- Reported by jeanandre.santoni@biblibre.com 2009-09-10 08:18:53 ----

You can delete all items attached to a biblio, and Koha should check if some of these items are checked out to not delete them. Otherwise patrons will have unreturned ghost items.



---- Additional Comments From jeanandre.santoni@biblibre.com 2009-09-10 08:21:29 ----

Created an attachment
This patch replaces DellItem by DellItemCheck in "delete all items".





--- Bug imported by chris@bigballofwax.co.nz 2010-05-21 01:12 UTC  ---

This bug was previously known as _bug_ 3597 at http://bugs.koha.org/cgi-bin/bugzilla3/show_bug.cgi?id=3597
Imported an attachment (id=1452)

Actual time not defined. Setting to 0.0
The original reporter of this bug does not have
   an account here. Reassigning to the person who moved
   it here: chris@bigballofwax.co.nz.
   Previous reporter was jeanandre.santoni@biblibre.com.
The original assignee of this bug does not have
   an account here. Reassigning to the default assignee
   for the component, gmcharlt@gmail.com.
   Previous assignee was jeanandre.santoni@biblibre.com.
Bug reassigned, setting status to "NEW".
   Previous status was "ASSIGNED".
The original submitter of attachment 1452 [details] [review] is unknown.
   Reassigning to the person who moved it here: chris@bigballofwax.co.nz.

Comment 1 Jane Wagner 2010-10-08 14:21:51 UTC
I just checked this feature in the 3.2 release candidate, and Delete All Items still did not block deletion of an item that was checked out.  The item record was removed, leaving an orphan record in the issues table and attached to the patron's checkout list.

I'm resetting the priority on this to blocker because I think this is a "don't use until it's fixed" problem.
Comment 2 Jane Wagner 2010-10-14 13:08:19 UTC
As a further update, I tested this with a triggered hold ("item is waiting") and an untriggered hold.  Deleting all items removed the triggered hold from that patron's record, but did not remove the untriggered hold, presumably on the theory that items could be added back to the title.  If the title is then deleted, the untriggered hold is also deleted.

This feature should have a warning at the delete all items stage for checkouts and holds.
Comment 3 Galen Charlton 2010-10-22 03:05:54 UTC
Pushed patches so that items on loan, waiting on the hold shelf, or in transit for a hold request are no longer deleted.  Downgrading bug, but leaving open for the cosmetic issue of giving the operator an explicit indication that some items were not deleted.
Comment 4 Liz Rea 2011-04-01 21:21:44 UTC
Waiting and transit statuses are still ignored in master as of 4-1-11.

http://screencast.com/t/Lh5vwCxetec
Comment 5 Liz Rea 2011-04-01 21:27:33 UTC
Also, it does tell you that some items weren't deleted, so that part's fixed. :)
Comment 6 Katrin Fischer 2013-12-06 01:31:51 UTC
I believe this is fixed - you have to cancel all holds now before you can delete all items. My test record had a waiting and a reserved (not yet pulled) item.